Cristiano Ronaldo Wins FIFA Best Player Award

Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo won his fourth FIFA Best Player award ahead of runners up Lionel Messi and third place Antoine Griezmann.

In a 23 candidate ballot, voted by national team captains and coaches, selected media, and fans online, Ronaldo won 34.54 per cent of total voting points, Messi got 26.42 percent, and third-place Griezmann received 7.53 percent.

Leicester manager Claudio Ranieri was named coach of the year after Leicester City’s remarkable season that won them the English Premier League title last season.

The World XI was announced with only players from the Spanish, Italian and German Leagues included.

World XI

Manuel Neuer (Germany, Bayern Munich);

Dani Alves (Brazil, Barcelona/Juventus), Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Spain, Barcelona), Marcelo (Brazil, Real Madrid);

Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid), Andres Iniesta (Spain, Barcelona), Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid);

Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona), Luis Suarez (Uruguay, Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid)

USA’s Carli Lloyd claimed the award for the best female player for the second year in a row while Liverpool and Borussia Dortmund shared the honours for the FIFA fan award.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s