Australia Draw World Cup Champions Germany In Their Group For Confederation Cup

Australia have drawn Germany, Chile and the country that wins the African Cup of Nations for next year’s Confederations Cup in Russia starting June.

The Confederations Cup happens a year before the FIFA World Cup and is split into 2 groups of 4 with countries that have won major international tournaments around the world within the past 4 years.

Socceroos earned the right to be involved as they won the Asian Cup. They have drawn against the World Cup winners  Germany, Copa America champions Chile and whichever county that wins the African Cup of Nations which will be decided in January.

Meanwhile, the other group saw hosts Russia draw Oceania champions New Zealand, European winners Portugal and Central American winners, Mexico.

The tournament will occur from June 17 until July 2, 2017.


2017 Confederations Cup Groups

Group A                                                   


New Zealand




Group B

Champion Of Africa





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s