Romero Knee’s his way to number 1

Yoel Romero is the new Number One contender for the Middleweight title!

The Cuban, coming back from a six month drug suspension and a split decision victory over Ronaldo ‘Jacare’ Souza, Romero went a the high profile fight with New York native Chris Weidman with plenty to fight for.

Prior to the fight, it was made knowledge that the winner would face current Middleweight Champion Michael Bisping for the title next.

In the early going, it was a strong, back and forward contest, but, with 24 seconds gone in the third round, Romero unleashed a vicious flying knee to the temple of the New Yorker. Flooring him Romero closed out the TKO win with a flurry of hammerfists, leaving Weidman prone on the canvas, bleeding heavily.

Celebrating  to his ‘Soldier of God’ moniker, Romero then went after Bisping, in the crowd commentating. The Cuban returned to the octagon to say “I am extremely happy,” “There are no words to express how I feel in this moment. Every fight of this magnitude will always be difficult. There was a lot of back and forth and I did my best to take advantage of situations as they came. I waited on him to rush in. I thought he was beginning to feel comfortable enough to do this, and then I caught him with the knee. It is an honor to be a part of UFC 205 in Madison Square Garden, but now I want my shot at the title.”

“I am extremely happy,” Romero said. “There are no words to express how I feel in this moment. Every fight of this magnitude will always be difficult. There was a lot of back and forth and I did my best to take advantage of situations as they came. I waited on him to rush in. I thought he was beginning to feel comfortable enough to do this, and then I caught him with the knee. It is an honor to be a part of UFC 205 in Madison Square Garden, but now I want my shot at the title.”

On an eight fight win streak, and undefeated since joining the UFC, Romero promises to deliver one hell of a show with Bisping when the two do finally square off.

Leave a Reply

