Australia’s Team For First Two Tests Against South Africa Announced

South Australia quick bowler Joe Mennie is a surprise inclusion to Australia’s 12 man squad for the first two tests against South Africa.

It was predicted that Tasmania bowler Jackson Bird would get the nod but the selectors have decided to go with Mennie who was the leading wicket taker in the Sheffield Shield last season with 51 wickets with an average of 21.

Mennie will join Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Peter Siddle as the quick bowlers while Nathan Lyon is the spinner in the team.

Meanwhile, WA opener Shaun Marsh is included in the squad and will likely open with David Warner.

Opener Joe Burns has been left out of the team but fellow Queenslander Usman Khawaja returns to the test team after being dropped for their last test match against Sri Lanka.

Khawaja looks sets to bat at number 3 with captain Steve Smith will likely come in at number 4.

Batsman Adam Voges, all-rounder Mitch Marsh and wicket-keeper Peter Nevill all retain their places in the squad.

The first test will begin on Thursday at the WACA in Perth while the second test will be at Bellerive Oval in Hobart on November 12.

Australia’s Squad: Steve Smith (Captain), David Warner (Vice-Captain), Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitch Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Joe Mennie, Peter Nevill, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Adam Voges




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s