Australia Pick 3 Bowling Debutants For ODI Tour Of South Africa

Australia have pick 3 new pace bowlers in their 15 man squad for their upcoming One Day International tour of South Africa.

Victoria’s Chris Tremain and South Australia’s Dan Worrall and Joe Mennie have been selected to cover Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood who have been rested.

National Selector Rod Marsh says the trio will be helpful for the series coming up.

“Chris, Joe and Daniel all had terrific summers last year and have also impressed us during the recent Australia A series with consistent performances,” Marsh said.

“They are young players with a bright future who thoroughly deserve their selection and we look forward to seeing them work with John Hastings and Scott Boland, who have both performed well for Australia since returning from injury.”

Australia have also left out Usman Khawaja, Moises Henriques, Nathan Lyon, Nathan Coulter-Nile from the squad.

Australia will play Ireland on September 27 in Benoni followed by the five ODIs against South Africa starting September 30 in Centurion.

ODI Squad: Steven Smith (capt), David Warner, George Bailey, Scott Boland, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Joe Mennie, Chris Tremain, Matthew Wade (wk), Daniel Worrall, Adam Zampa.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s