AFL Women’s Competition Announced

An 8 team women’s competition has been announced by the AFL for the upcoming 2017 season.

There are 4 Victorian and 4 non-Victorian based clubs that will be involved. Melbourne, Western Bulldogs, Carlton and Collingwood are the Victorian clubs while Adelaide, Brisbane, Fremantle and GWS are the non Victorian clubs.

Melbourne and Western Bulldogs were near certainties from the start as they have played exhibition matches in the past few seasons but spots for the other Victorian teams were still up for grabs. Carlton and Collingwood beat St Kilda, Richmond, North Melbourne and Geelong for the remaining two spots.

Fremantle pegged West Coast for the WA license while Adelaide, GWS and Brisbane were obvious for the rest of the non Victorian licenses.

Next season’s women’s competition will feature six home and away rounds, with the top four playing two semi-finals and a Grand Final.

There were talks of the competition to have 10 teams instead of 8 but the AFL decided that 8 teams will be better for the league.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s