Promoted Teams To EPL Confirmed

It was known a few weeks ago that Aston Villa, Newcastle United and Norwich City were the teams that were relegated from the English Premier League. With three teams relegated to the League Championship, three teams must be promoted to the English Premier League. Burnley, Middlesbrough and Hull City are the teams that have been promoted.

Burnley finished on top of the League Championship with 93 points and will be looking to stay up in the EPL longer than they did last time. They were relegated last season from the EPL after being in top flight for only one season so a longer stead in the top division this time around will be the aim.

Middlesbrough finished second of the League Championship with 89 points and have not been in the EPL since the 2008-09 season. The club has not messed around and have started signing players for the upcoming season including young midfielder Viktor Fischer who had shown great potential at Ajax and could help Middlesbrough next season.

Hull City went through the playoff rounds to secure the last promotion spot. They beat Derby County 3-2 on aggregate, winning 3-0 away in the second leg despite losing the first leg at home 2-0. They won the promotion playoff at Wembley Stadium by defeating Sheffield Wednesday 1-0. Like Burnley, they were in the EPL last season but were relegated.

Burnley, Middlesbrough and Hull City will all be looking to at least avoid relegation next season and if they can achieve that, they could stay in the EPL a lot longer than these teams have been recently.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s