Diego Castro- Worthy Johnny Warren Medal Recipient?

With the A-League season wrapping up this weekend, the award season has come and gone – for the most part anyway.

At the new DolanWarren Awards, the Johnny Warren Medal, the award given for the best player in the A-League. Won in previous years by the likes of Thomas Broich, Nathan Burns & Marco Rojas, this year, there was a queue of superstar’s in line.

Melbourne City pair Bruno Fornarolli and Aaron Mooy both had legitimate and strong claims to the award. Brisbane midfielder Corona had a fantastic season – however, to the surprise of many, it was won by Perth Glory midfielder Diego Castro.

Instrumental in there 2nd half season revival, Castro showed his quality, but it was lost among a confluence of factors, such as; Fornarolli’s 25 goal season, Mooy’s sublime form and the fact that Castro was playing on the West Coast where coverage isn’t at a premium.

However, dissecting it now, it is clear to see he was a worthy winner, finishing one vote a head of Mooy, having scored 13 goals and provided 4 assists. Numbers which generally do bring you into the conversation for individual awards.

With Perth having secured the signing of Adam Taggart, Rhys Williams and (Almost) Chris Herd, look for their second half of the season form, to continue through to next year, with this man firmly in the picture to orchestrate it.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s